Athens Marathon – The Authentic

This is our Athens Marathon – The Authentic collection! Here you can exclusively find the collectible medal of Athens Marathon – The Authentic. This is organised by SEGAS, the Hellenic Athletics Federation.

The Athens Marathon Collector’s Medal series

A new concept was introduced in 2019 in regards with the Athens Marathon – The Authentic medal. This concept will be developed during the next few years, until 2027. The series will consists of 8 medals, designed by renowned Greek & foreign artists. Each featuring a letter of the word MARATHON.

By 2027, the combination of the eight engraved letters will spell the entire word. Moreover, the completed series of finisher medals will be a great collection for collectors’ memorabilia in Greece and abroad.

Each medal will also feature a different, flagship moment of the history of this Olympic sport on its one side. On the other side, the Panathenaic Stadium will be featured on all 8 medals. The 2019 medal was designed by the renowned Greek artist Alekos Fasianos. He designed a scene from the Marathon Battle of 490 B.C. In this battle, around 11 000 Greeks, led by Miltiades, achieved a victory over the Persians. This victory prevented the Persians from entering Europe. Alekos Fasianos is one of the most famous modern Greek artists, with an international career. His work is exhibited in museums and collections all over the world.

The Athens Marathon Medal after 2021

After the cancellation of the Marathon in 2020 due to Covid-19, the 2021 Marathon medal was designed by Costas Varotsos. He is another famous and award-winning artist, whose work crosses the boundaries between painting and sculpture. The medal is featuring Hemerodromos, the man who carried the message of victory from Marathon to Athens.

The medals which will follow will feature great moments of the Marathon history. Great examples : the 1896 Athens Olympics marathon and the 1897 Boston Marathon. Moreover, great figures of the sport including Abede Bikila, Haile Gebreselassie, Eliud Kipchonge, Bobbi Gibbs and Katherine Switzer.

Showing all 4 results

  • Athens Marathon Collectors' Medal 2021Athens Marathon Collector's Medal 2021
  • Athens Marathon Collector's Medal 2022
  • Athens Marathon Collector's Medal 2019Athens Marathon Collector's Medal 2019
  • Athens Marathon Collectors' Medal SeriesAthens Marathon Collector's Medal 2019
Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top